chari

Sleep eludes.

I blame it on the still night. All night spent converting sunshine into chlorophyll, the leaves on the tree framed by the window are fast asleep. I hope for the rain to come pouring down and cool the house and put me to sleep. Poor me! I tire and surrender to insomnia. What should I write and how? I struggle with sentences failing to fall in place.

I close my eyes, sense my breaths. In. Out. In. Out. I lay my down my pen. Not a care in the world. Thankfully, I have a fan that rotates over my head, more than enough lighting. Suddenly, I get the jitters. Where am I headed? Think.

Midnight madness. I like the ring to the words. Midnight. Madness. Truth is stranger than fiction. A hair divides what is false and true – Omar Khayyam. Ramble. Ramble. Ramble. Ramble. Ramble for the last time. Random thoughts seek a specific response, and I am helpless.

Will a drink of water make me feel better and/or a bath remove the stickiness on my body? I am afraid to let go. Afraid to stem the flow of thought. What if I’m left holding my pen in darkness? And sleep still rebels. I look to the clock. It shows no mercy. A good three hours to dawn.

The night is still still. The fan works overtime. So do my eyes. I close my eyes, exercise my jaws. Go into a reverie. Lose myself. What if? I have no flair for writing and this is a wake-up call.

2 responses »

  1. Dear Srinivas,

    Now that you have taken the first few steps, I am sure you will do fine and come up many more nice articles….All the very best.

  2. jsbrocaj says:

    Dear TKS CHARI,
    Not being able to write is a bimari.
    Google par jaao
    Lots of information paao
    And show to the world your hoshiyari!

    I received your Wake-Up call
    I just Yahoo-ed and Google-d and all
    “how to develop a flair for writing”
    And the results? Oh so frightening!
    OMG 75,00,000 results in 0.37 seconds–thats all!

    There were so many links and leads
    That I started perspiring in beads!
    But ley ke bhagwan ka naam
    I shuroo-ed kiya mera kaam!
    Here is the result of my good deed:

    Now try the following link:
    (http://www.buzzle.com/articles/written-communication-skills.html)
    I am sure the suggestions there will sink!
    If at all they somehow don’t enthuse
    Don’t worry and blow your fuse
    Delete this garbage and go see your shrink!

Leave a Reply

