I must confess that I do not have the training or the ability to write a ‘proper review’; wish I could send a smile which a line brought to my lips, a tear that an ending brought on or sometimes just a warm feeling that a character evoked…

I just read a book called Ripples. I liked it.

“The complexity of things-the things within things-just seem to be endless.”

As I read ‘Ripples’, I remembered these words of Alice Munro, that queen of short stories.

The stories in this anthology are personal, their characters people one meets every day, the narration unpretentious and simple.

Deceptively ‘simple’ as a reader discovers, for the stories are full of those ‘things within’ ordinary things. The stories are full of analyses and closer looks at the feelings behind common situations.

The kind of stories that makes one say, almost aloud, “That happened to me once” or “That’s exactly how I would react.”

I said that often while reading Ripples.

Am not going to talk of individual stories. If at all, I liked one story a little more than another, it may have been because I felt close to, identified with a certain character or some such reason; never a comment on the quality of writing, which in this collection, is uniformly of a high standard.

The short story is a tough form. The story has to be told, and that often leaves limited space for the interiority of characters. In Ripples however, the reader gets to know the character- really well- in all the stories, without exception. This is good writing.

The 26 women writers come from different walks of life, and each one brings something from her world into her story.

The 27th person in this project is Prashant Karhade who has compiled this beautiful collection.

Independent publishing usually means a collaboration between the house and a writer, usually a novelist, who wants to set his/her own work out into the world.

But here is a publisher who has made the effort to contact these writers and present their work. I admire that.

26 Female voices. I am grateful for that.

These voices have to be heard.

These stories should be read by many people.

42 responses »

  1. nadi says:

    thank you, Indrani

  2. Indrani Talukdar says:

    Its a very nice review, Nadi. How could you state you don’t know how to review? I too would like to get a hold of the book. I’ll inform the local library in Dehradun. Thanks a lot.

  3. […] https://writespace4iw.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/book-lover-ripples-short-stories-by-indian-women-write… By books2read, on November 21, 2010 at 2:58 am, under Ripples. Tags:APK Publishers, Ripples. 1 Comment Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Books2BRead LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  4. deepika says:

    Thank you Nadi for the review. You’ve introduced a new book to me and I’ll not fail to read it as soon as I get it. I’m personally has inclination towards short stories.

  5. Dear Nadi,

    So, you finally commenced the flight here at Write Space!

    Simply told review, enough to make people to buy the book. What else do we need?

    Hoping to see some of your personal creation next fortnight.

  6. vimala madon says:

    I could see from the way you reviewed the anthology, without going into any one single story, that you really enjoyed the whole book. Am waiting to get hold of a copy soon.

    • nadi says:

      took care not to even mention a line i liked, Vimala 🙂
      a difficult thing- to talk about a book where there are multiple authors
      and friends amongst them !

  7. Vivek Banerjee says:

    Nice review. The best part of the book is that most of the stories have been written from the heart and the reader can feel the emotional connect with the stories.

  8. varuniiml says:

    I won’t call this much of a review, but it do understand that it’s tough to review a multiple-author collection of stories as one has to make sure everyone is given equal importance. But yes, as Shernaz put it, this “review” does make me want to grab the book and read it soon.. Thanks for Mr. Karhade the link… Will grab a copy soon…

  9. nadi says:

    hungover/crazy, what?
    what happened to me?
    sorry Shernaz

  10. Shernaz says:

    Nadi, I do not know what a ‘proper review’ is if this one isn’t. You have made us all want to grab the book and read it – that is the best review any book can get.

  11. Irene says:

    Thanks Nadi, for the heartfelt review. Thanks Sonal for wanting to read the book. I see that Prashant has answered your query and that you ordered a copy. Do let us know what you think.

  12. Beyniaz says:

    Good review of a book that I am waiting to read! Thanks Nadi.

  13. Hi Nadi,

    Thank you so much for this review which is straight from the heart.

    And to Sonal and everybody else who would like to get a copy of Ripples, you can order it from apkpublishers.com. Here is the link:
    http://www.apkpublishers.com/books/fiction/ripples_compiled_by_prashant_karhade.html

    You can also buy it from flipkart.com or indiaplaza.in if you are comfortable doing that and already have an account with those guys.

    I am working to get the book in all the stores but it is not easy to do that. It is driven by the demand for the book, which is definitely increasing by the day though and fortunately so.

    • Sonal Shree says:

      Hello Prashant.

      Thanks for this information. I have ordered the book using the link mentioned by you.

      Great job. Kudos to you and your team.

  14. Ameeta kapur says:

    went to 3 bookshops in gurgaon..not available .. will be visiting delhi today for the trade fair.. crossing my fingers …hope to get it there

  15. Sneha.S.K. says:

    Nadi, there are hardly any dearth of novelists, but the short story trend in India seems to be dwindling away, a fact even established writers agree with. I’m glad there are publishers who are doing their bit to revive this tradition.
    Great review.

  16. Sonal Shree says:

    Nice review Nadi. I wish to get a hand on this book but its not available in Kolkata. How do I get it? Can it be ordered online?This book is special because it contains stories written by people we know- Irene and Sucharita- through our writing platform.

  17. Sonal Shree says:

    Nice review Nadi. I wish to get a hand on this book but its not available in Kolkata. How do I get it? Can it be ordered online?This book is special because it contains stories written by people we know through our platform- Irene and Sucharita.

  18. Suneetha says:

    Gosh, Nadi…and you say you “dont know” how to review eh?…

  19. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Thanks for this very personal review which shows how much you liked the book. Of course, if I get hold of this book, I’ll read it.

  20. vimala ramu says:

    Is there a standard format for a review? Yours is an honest,personal opinion from your heart and so very differnt and precious,Nadi. Hope to hear more from you.

Leave a Reply

