Life as it is...

Do I present a bleak portray?

Do I distort the truth anyway?

Do I image with a jaundiced eye?

When I glibly say

That there is  an “ordinariness” to our lives

A staleness which permeates

Every nook of breath

As we proceed with the

“Goings” of life

Birth, adolescence, marriage procreation,

Decay and death

With an accepted ease

Without raising an eyebrow

We chart a path well trodden

The same way as we do

Millions before have done

There is nothing new

We do not question

We do not venture astray

But  just walk by like wandering gypsies

Perhaps in quest of the final call of the day

When a meteor strikes the earth

A crater dents the crust

We look at each other and accusingly say

“You did dare to break the rut

Doom befalls you next”

 

Am I wrong when I say

There is  an “ordinariness” to our lives

Which is here for aeons to stay.

 

 

 

26 responses »

  1. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Sir, it is more about apathetic acceptance than excitement. Thanks for being on my post!

    I agree with you the fortnightly roll of the blog is really very exciting

  2. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Deepika, thanks. I too feel it sometimes. As though we are justing floating with life…

  3. Should life be exciting always?

    such as a meteor strike

    or the sea part ways?

    mundane days can be exciting too!

    like the train arriving on time,

    like the letter arriving as expected,

    or the friend calling when not…..

    or the fortnightly roll of the blog ….

  4. deepika says:

    Well expressed poem. Sometimes I also feel like that but cannot express like you. you are just awesome.

  5. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Thanks Shail! Its all about change and acceptance. We tend to
    float with life.

  6. Dear Geeta,

    Lovely poem. Life is such. We think it is too simple that it becomes boring and then, bang we have complications thrust upon us.

  7. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Varun, thanks for reading, appreciating and clarifying…

  8. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Shernaaz, your comment made me take out my tattered Oxford Dictionary. Hmmm! Let me see……yes Portray is a verb. And I am surprised, you did not comment on my usage of image as a verb. Poetic license indeed. I love to play with grammar. The other day I used banshee as an adjective with mood. One of my esteemed poet readers pointed the same out to me….I am sorry for the non conventional usages, if it hurts poetic sensibilities, but I can’t resist it..I’ll go with Varun’ clarification. By the way nothing is non-issue in so far as interactive exchanges are concerned. I am glad that you touched upon the subject!!!

  9. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Nadi, your comment symbolizes your name!I hope there is a hidden ocean somewhere!

  10. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Beniyaz, thanks a lot for the note of appreciation.

  11. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Indrani, the admiration is mutual!!!

  12. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Sonal, I am glad that this poem could evoke varied opinions. I agree with you there cannot be only one unique way of looking at life. There is nothing called the absolute in Nature a well. When I was writing these lines, the thought which struck me was that the ability to find happiness and excitement in the mundane is what could also be one of the parameters of creativity. Another side of the story? May be I’ll write about that the next time. Thanks for reading!

  13. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Sneha, thank you very much. You are always very encouraging with your comments.

  14. varuniiml says:

    There is indeed ordinariness to everyone’s lives, but this poem is certainly not ordinary… Loved it !

  15. Shernaz says:

    Geetashree, Excuse me for my ignorance, but the first line of your lovely, contemplative poem puzzles me a bit. Is your use of the word ‘portray’ instead of ‘portrayal’ or ‘portrait’ poetical license? As no one else has commented on it, I am more perplexed at my own knowledge and understanding. Portray, in so far as I know is a verb. Honestly, do clear my doubts. And sorry for raising what might be a non-issue here.

    • varuniiml says:

      Shernaz, now that you mentioned it, I just googled for it. Turns out lot of people use “bleak portray” when they are referring to “bleak portrayal”… May be Geetashree ji did the same…

  16. nadi says:

    just walk by…

  17. Beyniaz says:

    Extra-ordinary poem. Loved it.

  18. Indrani Talukdar says:

    It is superb writing, and I mean it. Absolutely beatuful.
    Perhaps in quest of the final call of the day

    “When a meteor strikes the earth

    A crater dents the crust

    We look at each other and accusingly say…” I just loved this. Good going Geetashree!

  19. Sonal Shree says:

    I feel what may be monotonous to some could be exciting for others and vice versa so its a subjective issue.

    A thought provoking poem, thoughts very well expressed.

  20. Sneha.S.K. says:

    Good work. A nice flow which expresses well the monotony of everyday living and life itself.

  21. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Thank you Vimala. It’s what I feel everyday. Though, I don’t categorize myself as a rebel but then change is so imperceptible and gradual!

  22. vimala ramu says:

    But then.., you are not an ‘ordinary’ poet, Geetha. That was a graphic picture of ‘ordinariness’!

Leave a Reply

