Foodie misconceptions...

Misconceptions are much too human foibles. They are formed due to preconceived notions, mostly wrong ones.

When I used to walk to my Degree College with my friends, I would sometimes meet my brother Satyan with his friends, cycling on the way to or from his Engineering College. Much keen as I was to show off my handsome brother who moved in fashionable circles to my friends, my brother would never acknowledge his well oiled, single plaited, ‘behenji’ of a sister outside the house.

However, when I was engaged to be married, he started taking me (that too alone!) to the posh cantonment area to see English movies. When my mother asked for an explanation, he described his ‘de-behnji-ing’ program thus, “She is going to marry an Air force officer. She cannot very well discuss the Tamil movies which she has been seeing all these days. I am introducing her to English movies so that she could make some good conversation with Ramu”. Unfortunately, Satyan did not live long enough to see that his smart brother-in law, who used to see English movies in Camp cinemas and theatres, now prefers to watch ONLY Tamil movies on his home TV after his retirement!

Misconceptions are found mostly in food habits. My mother would very wisely counsel us, “Never say no to any dish offered at your in laws’ place. You will never ever be offered again though you may have felt like eating it later”

When I entered my married life, I thought I would impress my husband with a new, easy dish I had learnt—Banana fritters. As soon as he saw it, Ramu bolted away from the room saying, “For heaven’s sake don’t ever try to make it. They always make it in the mess whenever old bananas are lying in stock and I hate it”.

When I visited my bachelor son in Los Angeles, he brought home Paul, an American friend of his, for lunch. As a concession to the guest’s race, I had arranged a bit of cutlery around his plate. As soon as Paul saw it, he exclaimed, “No way am I going to eat a South Indian meal with spoon and fork. I am going to use my fingers”!

There was a time when MTR had not yet invaded USA with their ‘ready to eat’ South Indian items in packets. When I visited my son after he married  an American girl, I thought I would show off  and make some Chinese and North Indian dishes. My daughter-in-law interceded. She said, “I can cook all the wonky stuff myself. As for the north Indian dishes, the Indian restaurants have them in plenty. Please cook some simple, wholesome South Indian meals which he has been deprived of and has been hankering for. I don’t know how to cook them; nor does any Indian restaurant serve them.”

The worst case of misconception was during the 2nd World War. I was then 5 years old. I used to watch trucks, full of troops (whites), passing in front of our house in Kolar. The rumours were rife that these troops kidnapped girls and carried them away. I could not help watching them with a fatal fascination. Being a born and perennial ‘hum’mer, I would be humming some tune, with the fear of being kidnapped at the back of my mind. As the troops approached, I would suddenly go ‘off key’ in the hope that they would never want a girl who sang ‘off key’ and so would spare me.

But, when my own military man appeared in my life later (at a more nubile age), my music was the last thing on his mind. In fact, I was not even asked to sing during ‘Vadhu pareeksha’ (viewing of the girl). He ‘kidnapped’ me and ‘carried me’ away for life- bad key, bad scale and bad tune notwithstanding !

30 responses »

  1. vimala ramu says:

    Thank you Vimala. Glad you could vibe with my writing!

  2. vimala madon says:

    Such fun reading that was, vimala. And it’s so strange, my father too, after retirement (from the AMC) would spend all day watching telugu serials. Some kind of back to roots syndrome? And he would love to have his khasi-mizo wife, who didn’t understand a word of the language, sit beside him and he would translate even as the serial was running, missing much of the dialogue in the process, but that didn’t matter!

  3. vimala ramu says:

    Thank you,Shail.

  4. Dear Vimala.

    As I always say, you are the Witty Queen. Misconceptions was nice to read, with your usual joyful witty trademark!

  5. Varun Reddy says:

    Ha ha ha !!! Mazaa aa gaya !!!!

  6. vimala ramu says:

    Hi Eva, Nice to see you after a long time. As you know I am incapable of writing heavy stuff. I am glad you like ‘misconceptions’.Thank you

    • vimala ramu says:

      I noticed that you have been kind enough to go through each of my blogs in IWW. Thanks a lot, Eva. You don’t know what it is to be read by an excellent writer like you.

  7. Eva Bell says:

    Hi Vimala!
    ‘Misconceptions’ was light and humorous.
    Looking forward to more such articles.
    Eva

  8. Indrani Talukdar says:

    What a lovely, warm-hearted blog. I laughed right through, till the very end. Beautiful.

  9. deepika says:

    I endorse with Sonal. Liked your sweet and innocent misconceptions.

  10. vimala ramu says:

    Really? Not if they know what they are in for !!!

  11. Sonal Shree says:

    Anybody would love to kidnap you:)
    What to talk about your misconceptions! Truly endearing.

  12. vimala ramu says:

    Thank you,Pankaja for your feelings. None of our 4 brothers is alive now.

  13. nuggehallipankaja says:

    As usual very entertaining, though I felt sad to read about your brother.That was a cruel blow!

  14. Beyniaz says:

    Lovely blog as usual, Vimala.

  15. vimala ramu says:

    In fact, if I had been made to sing, he would have said ‘no’definitely because he hated music at that stage !Sorry to have missed your call today.

  16. Sneha says:

    Enjoyed this article thoroughly. Loved the bits of your daughter-in-law’s two bits and also the incident involving your brother.
    I’m SURE Mr.Ramu had a love-at-first-sight experience after seeing you, that’s why he didn’t ask you to sing. 😉

  17. Seetharam says:

    Well written Vimala. About Ramu kidnapping you away in spite of all your ‘bad’ things, he sure knew how to spot a good woman ! After all, being an armament officer, he knew how to hit the bull’s eye !!

  18. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    As usual, enjoyed reading your take on this unusual subject.

  19. Why regret ? Tiruppavai for ever is the cry that should be going out Vimala !

  20. Kanthi Narayanan says:

    Great one Vimm. Lovely to read about Satyan Uncle. Yes I do remember how handsome & smart he was. As for your singing, I have heard you sing and very well too, since my childhood.

Leave a Reply

