dawn’s fingers

draw the moon-washed

drapes of the night

to gently open the day

They brush the sky

with the pinks and golds

of the creeping sun

as slowly

from the east he peeps

for one more rendezvous

with our planet earth

 

so let Your fingers

pry open the benighted

mantles of my mind

and unlock wisdom’s door

Then softly sprinkle

Your sweet grace

upon my slumbering soul

as gradually

from this torpor I awake

once more my tryst to keep

with Your Light Divine

 

33 responses »

  1. Shernaz says:

    You have made my day, Smita, with your lovely comment.

  2. Smita Luthra says:

    It is a beautiful poem. Absolutely satisfying. Your writing is beautiful, Shernaz.

  3. Dear Shernaz,

    Nothing more beautiful than a piece of verse that inspires and rocks you gently in its aura of grace.

    Keep rocking Shernaz…..

  4. Eva Bell says:

    Lovely poem Shernaz!
    In future I will welcome the dawn with new eyes and feelings.

  5. Indrani Talukdar says:

    I loved the simile of the first line, “…dawn’s fingers

    draw the moon-washed

    drapes of the night…”
    Really beautiful.

  6. Shernaz says:

    Well, Safiyyah, I accept your tribute six months ahead of Teacher’s Day, with love and gratitude and embarrassment as well. As I have said to someone else before, all I did was help polish out the rough edges of the diamond. One cannot give what another is not capable of or willing to take.

  7. Safiyyah says:

    Every work, poem or prose, by you, has left me with that awe-struck wow feeling, speechless, at a complete loss of words of appreciation. Like from the beginning, almost 30 years ago, I read, I listen, I learn from you even when I think of you. My vocabulary enhances, my mind opens to wider horizons, my thinking broadens and my heart swells with the nourishing effects of this knowledge that is inspired by You, theough and through, all in all. I will never be able to thank you enough, for the gift of english that you have given me over all these years. Love, regards, prayers.

  8. Shernaz says:

    Wow! Don’t know what to say Sonal. Hope I continue to live up to your admiration. A big big thank you.

  9. Sonal Shree says:

    Oooooh! Beautiful. Am fan of your writing Shernaz.

  10. vimala ramu says:

    Beautiful, Shernaz

  11. Kumarendra Mallick says:

    A magnificent composition… inviting one to receive ‘the pinks and golds’ with gratitude. Thanks, Shernaz, for sharing these sublime thoughts.

  12. deepika says:

    Another jem from your treasure of imagination.

  13. Shernaz says:

    Dear Jitoo, Even I don’t see how my words could remind you of Gurudev’s timeless poem. Guess your troubled mind needed the solace they offer. That my humble prayer could also calm your mind is a reward I shall always cherish. I feel truly blessed. God bless you too, always, my friend.

  14. J S Broca says:

    Dear Shernaz,another beautiful,lyrical poem from your magical pen.I don’t know why and how but when I read your poem,the words that first came to me were from Gurudev Tagore’s treasure of gems : 1) “Let me not pray to be sheltered from dangers but to be fearless in facing them. Let me not beg for the stilling of my pain, but for the heart to conquer it. Let me not look for allies in life’s battlefield but to my own strength. Let me not cave in.”
    2)”When I stand before thee at the day’s end, thou shalt see my scars and know that I had my wounds and also my healing.” !! Your magnificient poem had a very calming effect on my troubled mind this evening.GBU.
    J S BROCA

  15. Shernaz,

    I think you ought to be rightly called the Emily Dickinson of Writespace!

    Really, Really nice!

    • Shernaz says:

      Really glad to have your favorable comment Om, but Emily Dickinson! No way! Please help me keep my feet safely on the terra cotta of humility and my head on my shoulders.

  16. Ibohal Kshetrimayum says:

    Hi Shernaz: I’m awakened to a new dawn filled with your tender and sweet lines any time of a day. For your words are timeless. You ought to show-off your poetic charms more often: like you did with this one. I’m enslaved by the devotion in your poem. Warmly – Ibohal

  17. beyniaz says:

    Lovely poem, Shernaz.

  18. Mira Pawar says:

    Shernaz I enjoyed reading the lovely lines…Thanks for sharing.

  19. gc1963 says:

    Simply wonderful. Beginning of a dawn in itself is a divine blessing.

  20. nadi says:

    very nice Shernaz

Leave a Reply

