When cheeks no longer moist

with transparent drops

of miserable mist –

when eyes lie empty, lonely,

nude in their emotionless fervor

I await the storm

that religiously descends into my system

to drown my dry eyes

into oceans of spontaneous overflow,

like floods ravaging

hungry land –

cracking earth,

withered sand.

 

Sorrow oriented droplets

wash away the burden of a ravaged heart

compelling a troubled mind

to squat in melancholic silence.

When hurried reflections

clash with harried emotions

and words drop

on a confused tongue

Monsieur Sinus walks right in

flowing royally in his robes

putting on hold tarried thoughts,

wiping away wishful inclinations

setting deserved solitude in motion.

 

(sometimes, I wonder, maybe Sinus is my medicine to sane living – helping me to keep quiet when I tend to overdo)

 

54 responses »

  1. Josie says:

    Thank you Shail for sharing this link with me! I struggled for years with sinus issues and could relate very well to this poem. I agree, that sometimes our bodies do step in with illness to ensure that we will take some much needed rest.

  2. Indrani Talukdar says:

    Oh dear, I hope you are feeling better now, Shail. I too suffer from my sinuses.

    • Dear Indrani,

      Yes, thanks.. I am much better now. That you too share the company of Monsieur Sinus every now and then, makes the poetry fall in perspective. Doesn’t it?

  3. Irene says:

    That’s a new approach to Sinus Shail 🙂

  4. Beyniaz says:

    Nice one on sinus!

  5. Eva Bell says:

    Gosh! This is the first time I’ve seen Mr. Sinus immortalized in verse. Next time when my nose leaks I’m sure I won’t harbour such murderous thoughts about him.

    • Dear Eva,

      Ha! Ha! What a nice reply! Yes, murderous to say the least. But, having gone through this again and again, I found out a way (at last) to accept something I cannot change but just bear with a smile if possible!
      Hope to see your work soon here….

  6. Brinda says:

    Hi Shail,
    Fabulous poetry!!! I love your attitude. Mr. Sinus is definetely an uninvited guest for all of us but it is nice to see a poem honoring him. Thanks.

  7. Shail,
    If only Vimala Ramu had seen your poem before she wrote her blog, she would have promptly added, “Thou shall not sneeze” to the list she was making!

    Keep up the tissued reflections….But remember, Mr.Sinus will humbly, dutifully retire when Mr.Sinarest Tablet confronts him!
    🙂

  8. Smita Luthra says:

    Loved this poem! 🙂 The mark of a great poet – to weave a purely nonintellectual and painfully domestic topic into the ribbons of poetic finery and take it to a higher level. 🙂

  9. Dear Jatinder,

    Ha! Ha! Ding dong ding! I shall remember the sinus bells ringing next time Monsieur Sinus comes visiting.

    Thanks for the detailed comment.

  10. J S Broca says:

    Dear Shail,your title Monsieur Sinus ( Monsieur means Mister in French)reminded me of a small funny poem in French,sung commonly by one and all till date,for centuries.
    The original French version of the song is as follows:
    Frère Jacques, frère Jacques,
    Dormez-vous? Dormez-vous?
    Sonnez les matines! Sonnez les matines!
    Din, dan, don. Din, dan, don.
    The song is traditionally translated into English as:
    Are you sleeping? Are you sleeping?
    Brother John, Brother John,
    Morning bells are ringing! Morning bells are ringing!
    Ding, dang, dong. Ding, dang, dong.
    A literal translation of the French lyrics would be:
    Brother Jacques, brother Jacques
    Are you sleeping? are you sleeping?
    Sound (the bells) for matins! Sound (the bells) for matins!
    Ding, dang, dong. Ding, dang, dong.
    Here is my take on it.I call it Brother Sinus :
    Brother Sinus,Brother Sinus,
    Let me sleep,Oh,let me sleep,
    Don’t come ever again,
    Oh,don’t come ever again
    Au revoire,au revoire.
    Thanks-you are gone,
    Good Bye you are gone !
    Gone,Gone,Gone !!
    Try some home remedies or :”Daadi Maan Ke Nuskhey”
    Enjoyed !!
    J S BROCA
    New Delhi

  11. shewriting says:

    this is cute…love the last line (setting deserved solitude in motion) if only I regularly gave myself the solitude I deserve, I might not get sick as much 🙂

  12. Bhargavi says:

    Haha…Shail…this spirit of even looking at Sinus as a ‘Monsieur'( is this gender on purpose..just kidding)and putting those feelings in a humourical way will always keep you sane…no doubt at that!

    • Dear Bhargavi,

      Caught me did you? No, the gender was not exactly intentional. But, while I was composing the poem I kept wondering about the title to be given to Sinus. Being a woman, I thought it best to have a gentleman visit me!! Ha! Ha!

  13. Kay Davies says:

    I suffered for a long time with severe sinusitis, but never wrote a poem about it.
    Eventually my doctor decided my entire sinus cavity (throat, mouth, nose, eyes) were being attacked by stomach acids due to Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) and prescribed a strong antacid, which seems to have worked.
    Ask your doctor if this might be your problem. Perhaps you can be helped.
    Meanwhile, remember the lesson Mr. Sinus has taught you – stop to rest for a while, instead of overdoing.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

    • Dear Kay,

      Thanks for the suggestion. I will consult the doctor on this. Never imagined my casual poetry on sinus would bring forth such warm feedback from my friends.

      And yes, will remember what Monsieur Sinus taught me! The problem is I remember for a while and then, it is forgotten until Monsieur Sinus visits me again!!

  14. I think I can safely say this is the best poem written to a sinus I have ever read:) Well done! Get better!

  15. I have read such a marvelous poetry on sinusitis for the first time, though have been treating it since long.

  16. vimala madon says:

    I almost imagined I was suffering your miseries as I read your poem shail

  17. Ashwathy says:

    LOL! 😀 I loved the line in brackets in the end 🙂
    Take care ….and get well soon!

  18. Tanuja Chatterjee says:

    Simply great Shail! Never thought sinus could turn one into a poet! Discovering life…slowly! It was fun reading it. Thanx!

    • Dear Tanuja,

      Good you liked the poem. No no. Sinus doesn’t turn one into a poet. At least, not that I know of. It is the other way round. This poem is written by a poet in distress. And I express myself best in poetry… at least about discomfort:)

      Thanks.

  19. Altonian says:

    Hello Shail, thank you for sending me your lovely poem. I have never before seen sickness and misery described in such a lovely fashion. Just thank your lucky stars that your bout with Mr. Sinus is not happening in Finland – those misty droplets would freeze into ice crystals, then imagine how you would feel. My sympathies nevertheless.

    • Hi Altonian,

      Nice that you enjoyed reading the poem. And also nice is the fact that you haven’t come across a poem on Sinus until now!!
      I can’t even imagine Sinus in Finland. Considering the description you have given me, Good Lord. I am better off here I suppose, and should stop complaining…:)

  20. prerna says:

    Hey Shail…Its great to see the smile on your face, even when Monsieur Sinus is botherign u…keep it up
    lovely poetry
    Tk cr and hope u r feeling better now
    Get well soon

  21. sonal shree says:

    Shail, don’t give so much respect to Mr. Sinus, He might fall in love with you 😉
    Liked your take on the problem.

    • Dear Sonal,

      You will not believe it. I did think about that. In fact, I thought of giving my poem a little twist and make a love affair with Sinus adding more color to my verse. But, with all those tears and discomfort I just couldn’t even venture anywhere near love…..

  22. Mira Pawar says:

    Great poetry on mr.sinus Shail! What’s next. Love reading every piece of yours….So discriptive!

  23. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    Aah! Shail! How my prediction comes true! Sinus has invoked the poetic vision in you! The beauty of the verse is escalated by the attached picture which speaks volumes ! Creativity at its best! Suffering underlies all sublime creation or vice versa. A topic of unending debate perhaps. But this poem has given words to the predicaments of many a sinus patients including me. Just superb!

    • Dear Geeta,

      Ah Ha! I haven’t forgotten that daag acchein hain bit.

      It is just that I couldn’t bring myself to write anything else for Write Space and write I had to. So, the best way out was to write about what I was undergoing. That made things (atleast about my forthcoming Write Space creative work) fall in perspective and a lot easier too.. altho’ the symptoms continued unabated.

      Thanks for the lovely words of appreciation.

  24. A.Hari says:

    Great to find a good poem even though you are not well.

  25. vimala ramu says:

    All of us have had mr Sinus visiting sometime or other , but I am sure nobody had such a poetic verse composed in his honour !

  26. Shernaz says:

    Shail, hope your next post will be “Goodbye Monsieur Sinus” and with that he’ll be off for good, yet leaving you with the ‘deserved solitude’.

    • Dear Shernaz,

      This poem was written in desperation because my poetry writing has been given a speed breaker during the course of this visit of Monsieur Sinus. And, without poetry, life seems dull. Hope to get back on track soon… Thanks.

  27. Varun Reddy says:

    Ha ha ha !!! Humourous take on Sinus 😛

  28. rumi says:

    hahhahaahaha!i witnessed 1st hand how monsieur sinus arrived and almost ravaged u shail!!!i hope u r better now.

Leave a Reply

