Where is the present lost?

forfeited to moments past

sacrificed to reveries distant

shorn of individuality

bereft of true identity

the here and now

obliterated

between the wheels

of rancid yesterdays

and obscure tomorrows

with cascading rainbows

of futile dreams

 

Where is the present lost?

arrested, defunct, spiritless

as we shilly-shally

like volatile pendulums

between obstinate clinging

to bygone days

and desperate hankering

after fearful futures

mislaid is the only moment

that could be really ours

and waylaid is the eternity

masked in the here and now.

 

 

32 responses »

  1. vimala madon says:

    Beautiful piece of verse Shernaz and very original imagery!

    • Shernaz says:

      Dear Vimala, Yesteday itself I replied here thanking you for your lovely, motivating comment. For some reason, neither this one nor two other replies I posted got through. So here’s a very sincere thank you for dropping by.

  2. Smita Luthra says:

    Marvellous! Beautifully woven in words. What an absolute stunner of a poem! I loved these lines:

    “forfeited to moments past

    sacrificed to reveries distant

    shorn of individuality

    bereft of true identity

    the here and now

    obliterated

    between the wheels

    of rancid yesterdays

    and obscure tomorrows”

    Awesome! 🙂

  3. Sonal Shree says:

    Correction: Blame it ON my hectic…

    • Shernaz says:

      Wow! Sonal, you have really made my day! Each time before I write something I pray that my words will reach out to someone bringing them what they need at the moment – hope, joy, peace, inspiration…whatever. Does not matter that they will be total strangers and may never write back to me. There is nothing more I can want. Thank you and God bless you.

  4. Sonal Shree says:

    A poem so relevant in today’s context. In our over eagerness to make the future secure and tamper proof, we are losing track of the beautiful present.
    Such powerful expressions! Beautifully conveyed the message.

    • Shernaz says:

      Ah! Sonal. Finally you were able to get down to reading and commenting on this poem. I thought I wouldn’t be so lucky this fortnight. Thank you for your very motivating words. Appreciation of one’s work always makes such a difference.

      • Sonal Shree says:

        Please don’t embarrass me. Really sorry couldn’t comment earlier. Blame it my hectic schedule these days. Your writing is so, so powerful that it inspires me to aim higher and practice more to reach that level. Honestly.

  5. Dear Shernaz,

    We all are guilty of it, guilty that is of losing the present to either the past or a tomorrow that is yet to come.
    You have expressed the significance of the present well in the poetic lines.

  6. Sneha says:

    The present is lost
    somewhere in the midst of the
    fog
    which blur the vision
    of the beautiful trees which lie
    ahead of the path

    oh surreal future
    and dreadful past !

    Loved your poem as always. Love the images. Keep writing.

  7. sreelata menon says:

    Extremely evocative Shernaz and how absolutely bang on.

  8. Geetashree Chatterjee says:

    “between obstinate clinging

    to bygone days

    and desperate hankering

    after fearful futures”

    How true…………”mislaid moments and waylaid future”.

    Touched

  9. Beyniaz says:

    Loved this:

    “as we shilly-shally

    like volatile pendulums

    between obstinate clinging

    to bygone days

    and desperate hankering

    after fearful futures

    mislaid is the only moment…”
    look forward to more.

    • Shernaz says:

      Beyniaz, I am happy you liked the poem. Hope not to disappoint my friends on this forum in future.

      • Indrani Talukdar says:

        I too loved those lines. But is only to be expected from you, Shernaz. Great work.

      • Shernaz says:

        Indrani, your comment inspires me to strive to write better. Thank you.

  10. Thanks Shernaz, for sharing this wonderful piece of poetry. I am inspired to pen a few lines, in tribute:-

    Swinging pendulums
    do not portray
    the emotions
    of the second hand
    as it overtakes the minute hand
    every minute;
    as it runs past,
    the hour hand
    and the minute hand
    Round and round as it goes,
    the other two hands
    hear it mutter:
    Now, Now, Now,
    Now, Now, Now,
    Now, Now, Now,
    Now, Now, Now….
    And they understand
    that the second hand is
    celebrating time,
    counting the elusive
    now……

    Thanks, Shernaz, for sharing this wonderful piece of poetry.

    • Shernaz says:

      Om, it feels good that my humble attempt has inspired to pen a poem in response. Grateful to you.

  11. J S Broca says:

    Dear Shernaz,a really moving piece of poetry,beautifully expressing your feelings about the past and missing the present.Emerson,I think had said somewhere :”With the past, I have nothing to do; nor with the future. I live now.” One problem with gazing too frequently into the past is that we may turn around to find the future has run out on us. I feel we need to heed the advise of another thinker who said :”Don’t let the past steal your present.” You should not clutch the past so tightly to your chest so that it leaves your arms too full to embrace the present. We all (me included) seem to be going through a period of nostalgia, and everyone seems to think yesterday was better than today. I don’t think it was, and I always advise my students not to wait ten years before admitting that today was great.I often hear people always asking about the good old days. I say, why don’t you say the good now days? Before I end,here is a quote I just love :”When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed doors, that we do not see the ones which open for us.” (Alexander Graham Bell )

    J S BROCA
    New Dehi

  12. nadi says:

    rancid yesterdays…
    that’s good writing, Shernaz

  13. vimala ramu says:

    My dear Shernaz,
    Though you might have written the poem with an individual at heart, I feel it portrays very well the story of our country.
    Excellent as usual.

    • Shernaz says:

      Dear Vimala, I had no one particular in mind when I wrote this poem. It is the way all or most of us are – looking back or forward, never at what ‘is’. Thank you for your heart-warming praise.

  14. Safiyyah says:

    What can I say about how u describe your feelings in the themes that you chose ? I am at a total loss of words to describe the appreciation I feel everytime I read a piece of work (or shall I take the liberty to say, a piece of your heart)?
    Lovely read, shouting out the harsh reality, in words only you could put together. Love and warmest regards.

    • Shernaz says:

      Saffiyah, thank you for this effusive response. Perhaps if you read my work more objectively you would find a lot to say. Try it next time.

Leave a Reply

