Gone now

Doubts of the past

That tied my wings till now

Today I fly high in open sky

With joy

Unsure of destination still

Yet beauty of blue skies

Urge me forward

With smiles

 

I

Fly

Alone

Yet it feels

Never a burden

Below me in river serene

Reflection follows

With myself

Content

I

Fly

 

Sunset

Home awaits now

I can return, more sure

Captive to optimistic signs

My heart

Revels in new revelations

Magic spun: self-belief

Winds spur my wings

I soar

 

Poet’s note: Self doubt is the most treacherous thought in my opinion. It’s hard enough to fly when others question us, but when we question ourselves negatively; the wings of mind and heart are cut. If we find that we believe in what we do, then we can soar. We’re never alone, for our belief gives us company. Our reflection won’t waver, and we can return to who we were; no, not were, who we are. Home seems so much happier to us when we come back after soaring in the infinite spaces of the sky, than wings cut and limited to a tree.

 

19 responses »

  1. deepika says:

    Inspirational and full of optimism. Beautiful poem.

  2. gc1963 says:

    An inspiring and beautiful composition.

  3. Nice and inspiring, Vinay! Reminded me of Abba’s “Eagle”!

  4. Eva Bell says:

    Lovely poem!
    Fly with the wind beneath your wings,
    Commune with the fleecy clouds above,
    Let your free spirit leave behind the dreary day.

  5. Sonal Shree says:

    I like the structure of this poem – each stanza tapering wing- like. beautiful.

  6. vimala madon says:

    The first two verses esp and your arrangement of the lines are inspirational Vinay

    • Vinay says:

      thank u, Vimala Madon 🙂 the arrangement is part of the form itself, and is embedded 😀 glad u liked it and found it inspirational. 🙂

  7. Mira Pawar says:

    Lovely Poem Vinay!

  8. vimala ramu says:

    Wish this poem had been the lyrics for World cup song!

  9. Dear Vinay,

    A lovely piece of verse with a great sense of optimism attached in the wings of the poem….

  10. Beyniaz says:

    Nice, nice, nice! Vinay, welcome on board WriteSpace.

  11. Shernaz says:

    Inspiring, aesthetic in form, beautiful in content.

Leave a Reply

