Tears streaming down her cheeks

the little girl valiantly watched

striker in hand

as little coins decided her destiny –

a loss again it was to be

and complain she could not

as the winner, her very own sweet mother.

‘Only a game this,’ she was lovingly told

yet, her eyes moistened and the world laughed.

~~~~~~

Changing generations

play the same deciding game once again.

Players change yet, the result the same –

one to win while the other morose, unhappy.

Little vulnerable tears beginning to swell

in those innocent eyes thinking that the match was life

knowing not that life itself an illusion –

“Only a game this,” I was to utter

bringing full circle what  I lost ages ago…..

30 responses »

  1. vimala madon says:

    how serious every game was to us as children, how elated when we won, how miserable when we lost.
    How many children play with wooden tops, or gulli danda, or seven tiles, or marbles. When I bought some especially beautiful marbles for my sons they didn’t know what to do with them – just kept rolling them across to each other until I told one of the maid’s sons to show them.

    • Dear Vimala,

      Thanks. Your comment is as descriptive as your write-ups.
      Yes, what seems light things to us, for children they can be big things like it did for us when we were children…

  2. gc1963 says:

    You made me nostalgic!

  3. PremI says:

    Beautifully expressed!
    Felt as if a reflection of my own childhood…. my thoughts…
    Thank you.

  4. Shernaz says:

    Your writes are always thought provokingly lovely, Shail. Simple, every day matters of life take on a special hue when you talk about them. Keep writing and provoking our minds.

  5. Sudha Vardharajan says:

    Hi,

    A very relevant and universal thought expressed in verse. And how very true – indoor games have become things of the past – gone with it are the sense of bonding and togetherness. Today, indoor games are nothing but mortal combats fought in the virtual world. How sad our children do not realise what they are missing!

    • Hi Sudha,

      Thanks. Very true indeed. The current generation does not realize what it is missing. Sad, but true. But not a situation that cannot be changed. I am trying at least…. Though I may not be succeeding as much as I wanted to…

  6. Eva Bell says:

    Your poem transported me back to my childhood days. Though Mother often had no time to play, the elder siblings gloated when they saw tears in my eyes.
    Now it’s my grand daughter. She just loves to yell “Grandma never wins.”

    • Dear Eva,

      So nice that my poem had you go back to your childhood days. When a poet/writer is able to do this, it really feels good!
      So, it is your grand daughter now eh? Nice that you take time out to play….

  7. Hi Ladynimue,

    Nice you enjoyed reading the poem. Yes, cards were something we all played at home too. And I lost there too at times!!
    But I loved the whole act of getting together, family, friends, snacks, enjoying……

    I agree. Indoor games like carrom and the like indeed make one to bond better.

  8. ladynimue says:

    This was lovely shail … Thanks for sharing the link 🙂
    Long time i palyed carrom .. though cards are what my family love to play when we all are together !! With mom and dad challenging each other each time and we get to hear repeated stories of their bets 😉
    Indoor games are always a good way to teach , learn , grow and bond better !

  9. Beyniaz says:

    …’knowing not that life itself an illusion’ ….how true! Lovely poem, Shail.

  10. Harshad says:

    Life.
    Only a game this.

    Touching poem.

  11. Jay says:

    Wow! superb Shail! btw, I still see the game as life. I refuse to grow up 😉

  12. Varun Reddy says:

    Me and mom used to play Scrabble as a kid… Just the two of us… Learnt a lot…

  13. Hope says:

    I am saddened by the prospect of loosing such and enjoyable way to spend with family and friends. I grew up with board games, card games and dice games. In our home we still play these games not as often as we like mind you.

    I’ve noticed the decline in the interest with my grandchildren more so than my children. My youngest grandchild is 5. I do my best to interact with them when they are here but I see that interest in board games is slowly declining.

    I was not a great winner when it comes to games but I played because I loved to play. I’ve always told my children that the ‘looser’ is just as important as the ‘winner’ for if there was no looser there would be no winner. lol! i don’t know if it worked for them but it certainly made me feel better. 🙂

    wonderful post!
    have a wonderful day!

    • Dear Hope,

      So good to see you here. Yes, children tend to play other games. Even outdoor games are made into video or computer games and they prefer them. What a pity!

      I have begun playing these games once again if only to go back into a time when things were simple and games were fun and loving. Also, to present this gift to the next generation…

      Thanks Hope for sharing….

  14. A.Hari says:

    Shail, You have nicely captured the feelings when one loses the game. Nice.

  15. jyoti mishra says:

    wow I’m mesmerized …
    Excellently written and feel behind it is awesome !!!
    Even I enjoyed playing carom, ludo, Snacks and ladders in summer holidays…… Kya din the 😀

  16. I love this I remember I used to play a lot of games with my grandmother growing up its been a long time since I have really played these types of games. Nostalgic! You certainly captured my heartbreak on losing

    • Hi Mindlovemisery,

      Nice that you enjoyed playing these games. I miss playing them too that’s why I have started it all once again. Yes, maybe a lot of time has passed but the aroma of the time spent enjoying these kind of games still persists.
      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

