FOOD FOR THOUGHT: Celebrating Life, Celebrating You by Shail Raghuvanshi, Chennai…

“You’re having a celebration? Then, count me in!”

“Celebration? Not for me. I have too much to do, too much already going on in my life.”

These are two different kinds of reactions when it comes to celebrating YOUR life, or celebrating LIFE itself. Of course, we cannot automatically call the former an optimist and the latter an introvert. That would be too much of a generalization. But, it is easy to get cynical when life is not going the way you want it, or there are too many things still to be done, leaving you with little or no time at all to savor the tiny joys in life. And, under such circumstances when you see someone else celebrating, you wonder how could they find the time to do so, how could they be so cheerful even amidst chaos, hurt, turmoil and responsibility.

Not an easy task. But not impossible either. I keep telling myself that because there are times when I do find myself voluntarily sinking in the thought of the worthlessness of life with its hypocrisy, superficiality and the lack of that elusive goal (maybe spiritual) that would grant me the eternal joy I am seeking in life. Sometimes, there seems not just enough time for everything to do in the world. Sometimes, there seem to be too many memories stacked together in my brain. Sometimes, there seems only the Maya that rules and the Inner Soul lost in the whirlpool of daily existence.

Oprah Winfrey says, “The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.” So very true, isn’t it? You can see nothing and yet see the whole world in it. You can see everything and yet see nothing in it at all. As time passes and experiences mould our emotions and reflections I long to believe in the celebration called life. There is so much to see, feel and hear about in this life. There is so much to gain, love and create in this world. There is so much to be happy, sensitive, loving and grateful for in this universe. Isn’t this what celebration is all about? Even as our minds goad us into believing and following the logistics of living, somewhere deep within, lie our souls waiting to spring into happiness, longing to spread bliss around and celebrate!

Walt Whitman has rightly said, “I celebrate myself, and sing myself, And what I assume you shall assume, For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.”

Celebrating a year of creativity, bonding and sharing at Write Space4iw!

14 responses »

  1. gc1963 says:

    Wow a beautiful energizing blog, Shail. I like the idea of more we celebrate life there is more to celebrate in life. Sometimes we forget the little moments of joy and keep hankering for more. That is the time one should sit back and introspect. There’s more to life that we can imagine. A blog to be read and re-read whenever one feels down.

  2. Eva Bell says:

    “Live in the active rather than the passive voice, intent on what you can do rather than what may happen to you,” said one wise man. I think the sure formula for enjoying life is to keep our chin up and our knees down.

  3. jyotimishra says:

    Congratulations for competing a year !!!
    u r damn right… life is to celebrate, enjoy 🙂
    no to just run after money, luxury n wat not.

    u really gave a food for thought 🙂

    Nice read !!

  4. A.Hari says:

    Quite interesting. Many of us focus on negative side of life and ignore the positive aspects which also equally exist. Even the print & electronic media gives prominent coverage only to negative news. Let us spread positive news and be prepared to handle challenges in Life. Blogs like this serve as ‘ real alternative’ in spreading positive info which helps us to celebrate Life.

    • Thanks Hari. Yes, it is the negative that seems to catch the attention of most human beings as their sad emotions are given some sympathy. But then, as you said, positive emotions are part of life too and need attention to make life better if not best. Yes, let us spread cheer around….by celebrating life.

  5. vimalaramu says:

    I feel life deserves to be celebrated every second, every minute, every hour…………

  6. Beyniaz says:

    Lovely blog, Shail, coming at the right time for Writespace!Life is a celebration in itself.

    • Thanks dear Beyni. Glad you like it. Yes, life must be considered a celebration in itself although that is not always considered so due to circumstance, state of mind, etc. But then, we are celebrating writespace so great na?

  7. Obstinate and peculiar they may call me but I celebrate life’s celebrations in my own simple ways. One example; I refuse to to do it on the exact day I would rather keep that day solemn and offer thanks..and when that special day went without any incident then it’s time to celebrate with friends and family members. I just don’t want to anger or annoy any good spirits by claiming something that’s was not fully given to me, I don’t know but perhaps it’s just me and my beliefs

    • Thanks Isabel for sharing your thoughts and feelings. Yes, we all have our own little ways of celebrating, something we believe will give us happiness and also not hurt others in the process.

Leave a Reply

