32 teeth intact,

A fact

Often made me smile with pride

Until the pretty wave turned its tide

When one fine day I found myself howling in pain

Even a valiant show I could not feign!

******

A swollen jaw, a chipped off tooth

A pain shooting from the root.

Throbbing sting, excruciating ache

In my mouth, a whirl winding earthquake.

The vagaries of the mind,

Even in frustration my teeth I could not grind!

*******

At home, at work enormous tasks to be done

But, this torturing pain just could not be undone.

So, 32 teeth and me in tact

Were rushed to the dentist for a detailed dental chat.

Bearing the jerking and tugging within my once smiling mouth

The verdict laid bare, RCT it was to be without any doubt.

*********

My smirking attitude at dental pain

Now transformed into a lifelong lesson gained.

The dentist beckons me again

To check on infection, any deadly pain.

I thank my stars my teeth are in tact,

My smile without pride this time, it is a fact!!

 …………….

(ah! poetry flows in pain I realize, even as I make a courageous effort to recovery after a Root Canal Treatment (RCT))

30 responses »

  1. deepikaamit says:

    Nice way to reduce some pain by sharing it with others that too with a hint of humour.
    would prefer to read your poem before visiting dentist in future.

  2. Shernaz says:

    Well, Shail, a certainly enjoyable poem about a not-easy-to-smile-through pain. Hope after all these days you are finally free of it and are smiling cheerfully, not bravely.

  3. vimala madon says:

    I too have been heard to brag that other than my wisdom teeth I have all the rest intact. But your tale reinforces the fact that pride does indeed go before a fall so from now on no one hears about my good strong teeth!

  4. Jyoti Mishra says:

    This was super..
    really hats off for the ingenious take on this topic.
    I was smilin all the way 🙂

  5. Eva Bell says:

    Ah! you’ve done it. Turning pain into a humourous poem is quite a feat.
    Nice that you have triumphed over the rigors of RCT with your wit intact.

    • Dear Eva,

      I tend to do that. Attempt to turn pain into something humorous just to avoid pitying myself and psychologically lessening the pain. The same was the case when I had that terrible bout of Sinus and I wrote that poem on Monsieur Sinus! I hope you remember that poem!

      Thanks…

  6. Dear Shail,

    Had a good Laugh at your poem 😀

    Nice and Humorous!

    But really feel sorry for you, dear.

    Hope you get well soon.

    Best Wishes
    : Aparna :

  7. Mr.Sivaraj via email:

    Dear Shail,

    there are two pains even the foe should not suffer from are

    Tooth pain and

    Pain in the ear.

    Its really horrible.

    With kind Regards,

  8. Sudha Varadarajan says:

    Aha! “Poetry in pain” – spontaneous overflow of “painful emotions” put together in a comic vein. Hope our smiles lighten your pain and make you smile soon! Enjoyed, Shail

  9. indianrlys says:

    Thanks for this nice poem.The pain caused by tooth multiplies after seeing the bill.

    BTW I want to share one experience narrated by my friend. His daughter became a dentist after studying in a self financing college after spending more than 6 lakhs. She started working in a popular dentist chain. She was paid Rs.8000 pm. When she demanded a hike, She was told to bring more patients or ensure repeated visits of same clients under some pretext. Such incidents show many repeated visits may not be absolutely required for us.

    A.Hari

    • Dear Hari,

      Thanks for the appreciation and yes, the pain psychological it may be does multipy when the bill comes up especially when it becomes a repeated phenomenon!

      The dental profession is indeed a paying one. Unfortunately, like so many other professions there are rotten apples there too as is seen in your example. But, of course, we cannot generalize.

  10. gc1963 says:

    What a coincidence! We are in the same boat.

  11. smitaluthra says:

    Hats off to you Shail for creating something so poetically witty (or wittily poetic:)) out of the pain of an RCT. I’ve been through a couple and can understand the suffering. 🙂 Once I had such a swollen gum under the effect of an anesthetic that I had to explain to my co-workers that I wasn’t acting snotty and that what looked like a smirk was actually an earnest attempt from my side to smile.

  12. phoenixritu says:

    Rough! But it led to awesome poetry. Get well soon

  13. Beyniaz says:

    Ouch! Nice one, Shail.

  14. Jatinder writes to me via email:
    I tried to post my comments on your page
    but repeated attempts somewhow failed.
    Here are my comments :

    Dear Shail ji,
    Yes,sitting on a dentist’s chair requires guts.Somebody jokingly said that :”Happiness is your dentist telling you it won’t hurt and then having him catch his hand in the drill”.I recall another patient who said:“I told my dentist my teeth are going yellow. he told me to wear a brown tie!” Once I went to my dentist-a funny guy.When I sat on the chair,he said “Say Aaah.” I asked “Why?” You know what he replied ? :”My dog’s died.” Sometimes,situations like these arise too: I’m always amazed to hear of air crash victims so badly mutilated that they have to be identified by their dental records. What I can’t understand is, if they don’t know who you are, how do they know who your dentist is? Kudos to you for bravely facing the RCT and yet having the strength to pen your emotions.
    J S BROCA
    NEW DELHI

    • Dear Jatinder,

      Good to see you here. And thanks for that pat on my back although I honestly know that I need to be braver.

      Nice of you to share your witty views. Helps ease the pain a wee bit!

  15. Safiyyah says:

    Subtle humour, made me smile, mind u, not at ur pain, but at the good expression of it…regards…x

    • Dear Safiyyah,

      Thanks for the appreciation. Much needed currently as a psychological respite as the pain troubles me every time the effect of the antibiotics ceases to function.

Leave a Reply

