She bequeathed me Her all…
Her blood, Her bones, Her marrow….
E’en Her very soul !
****
She bequeathed me Her all….
Her hair ….
Dark…. and shimmering…
like wanton desires !
*****
She bequeathed me Her eyes……
Vast oceans of unquenchable thirst…..
A calm tranquility like a veil …
worn over passions untold ……
turbulent thoughts ….
a pandemonium of emotions
raging inside in a mad frenzy !
*****

She bequeathed me Her heirloom…..
Of wordlessness…
Silences stretching over from….
womb to womb !
Muted wails ….
beating their fists
against the tyranny of life….
the apathy of fate !
*****
She bequeathed me Her homelessness…..
through many ages ….
I can still feel her standing….
outside under the scorching sun…..
the harsh, inexorable heat…..
pouring it’s molten fire over her …
scalding and blistering
e’en Her very soul !
Torrents of rain ….
drench Her to the bones …..
And I can see her turning icy blue …
in the freezing cold…..
Frosty winds piercing right through her ….
I see her …..Shivering …
Shelterless ….. Defenceless…… and so Alone !!!
******
She bequeathed me……
Her rootlessness…..
the Craving to belong….
the ceaseless, relentless anguish
of being uprooted ….
again and again…….and again and again !
*****
She bequeathed me…..
Her sleeplessness ……
Wakeful, she stayed up….
for many births …..
nurturing, worrying…..
e’er anxious, She…
always overwrought !
*****
And now….
I hold Her in my heart….
Cradling all of Her ….
I sing Her the same lullabies ….
She sang for me once …..
“Sleep my child, peace attend thee,
all through the night….. ”
*****
Her bequest….
Her legacy …
it always hounds me !
Will I ever be delivered
Or will it pass on ….
from my womb …
to yet another’s …
forever more ?

****

8 responses »

  1. Safiyyah says:

    I am left speechless at the truth of these words, the sheer strength of these words, at the emotins stirred by these words. Beautiful composition…

  2. Beyniaz says:

    Lovely. Welcome to writespace, Archana.

  3. chandra gurung says:

    Mother-the best word from dictionary of life. She may not like to pass down her hardships, tears, sufferings to the lives that start their journey from her womb…But surely many of her characters and qualities pass on to her girl child.
    A wonderful poem about love for mothers. Great !

  4. vimalaramu says:

    An excellent addition to writespace family.

  5. Shernaz says:

    Beautifully expressed emotion,,,a poem to be read over and over again.

  6. sunamu says:

    This is fantastic stuff. I am very pleased inform that I shared this with my friends on Face Book after reading it.

  7. ‘Emotion in Verse’ is what the author calls this. I’d go further .. ‘Emotion sculpted in Words’! Invokes Kipling’s ”Mother o’ Mine”? Why does it remind one of Al Belushi’s ‘Candle that burns itself to light our Life’!? And bring a glistening bright tear to the wizened old cheek.
    Feelings so bountiful, so tender they still the heart!

Leave a Reply

