Afzal

Splinters embedded under my skin,

each memory a shard of stinging glass,

^^^^^ 

I see that I see it all now,

the infinite regrets meandering,

down foggy alleys of yesteryear,

as decades and moments come to pass.

 ^^^^^

Wearing my many masks as I cascade,

leafing through my conscious betrayals,

of gentle hearts once treasured,

now left to decay, in the empty cold.

^^^^^ 

Seeing my treasures turned to stone,

while wearing the blues like a convenient coat,

untrue to most, I stand accused,

in the dock, the fragments of my past,

are all that I am able to hold.

^^^^^^ 

Where do I go from here,

as I stand ashamed, rooted to this spot,

my sins are countless, my excuses fickle,

the lies have been many,

and all the untruths have already been told.

^^^^^ 

Was it not just a fortnight ago,

when I was younger than I am now,

you loved me completely, you told me so,

while I slithered inside my thick skin,

shutting you out,

and embraced comforting desolation into my fold.

^^^^^^ 

Now the momentary tears have all been shed,

the wounds of time too, have silently bled,

and all beseeching prayers have been said.

^^^^^ 

I stagger on, my reflection a mirage,

my heart and soul battered black and blue,

 ^^^^^^

still, grasping onto the tendrils of hope,

if not, then I am truly dead.

9 responses »

  1. Afzal Moolla says:

    Thanks, Vimalarnuv! Stay well and warmest wishes and a scribble indeed it is 😉

  2. vimalaramuv says:

    An intense poem.Scribbles? Far from it.

  3. vimala madon says:

    A very beautiful poem Afzal. It touched my heart with its poignant imagery.

  4. Khurshid says:

    Excellent! Each word penned touched my heart.

  5. Afzal Moolla says:

    I appreciate your kind words, Beyniaz!
    Thanks again.

  6. Beyniaz says:

    Now the momentary tears have all been shed,

    the wounds of time too, have silently bled,

    and all beseeching prayers have been said…..powerful words indeed.

  7. Afzal Moolla says:

    Thank you for choosing to include my scribbles here! Much appreciated!

    Warmest wishes from Johannesburg on the southern-most tip of the African continent!

Leave a Reply

